General Assembly passes 237 new laws for 2016

The Illinois State Capitol

Area mayors on Wednesday released the following statement on House Bill 3563:


"In the opinion of the mayors, should this bill become law, it would have a devastating effect on the ability of our police departments to keep their communities safe while enforcing the law equally and fairly for all.


"We ask our legislators this question: Why rush a 600-plus page piece of legislation that revolutionizes almost every aspect of the criminal justice system in Illinois?


"If this legislation does pass, law enforcement as we know it, victims and police will be severely harmed. We believe this approach lacks balance, due process and any input from professional law enforcement organizations.


"We are urging our constituents to contact their legislators and governor to voice their opposition and prevent the passage of House Bill 3653."

Mayor Brant Walker – City of Alton

Mayor Alan Winslow – Village of Bethalto

Mayor Joe Silkwood – Village of East Alton

Mayor Mike McCormick – Village of Godfrey

Mayor Rick Eberlin – City of Grafton

Mayor Jim Hickerson – Village of Hartford

Mayor Marty Reynolds – Village of Roxana

Mayor Barbara Overton – Village of South Roxana

Mayor Cheryl Maguire – City of Wood River


Load comments